Change the world



  • The Ministry of Sport & Recreation South Africa (SRSA) and the South African Sport Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) agreed that, due to the unique nature of student sport universally, University Sport South Africa (USSA) should be administered independently.
  • Constituted on 16 April 1994, USSA is considered the official unified national umbrella sports structure for the regulation, organization and coordination of student sports activities at regional, provincial and national levels in the tertiary education sector of South Africa.
  • USSA was founded within the tertiary education sector in order to represent and protect the sporting interests of all students at member institutions based on the principles of unity, accountability, non-racialism, non-sexism and democracy.
  • USSA's core business is to maximize student participation and encourage sporting practice in harmony with and complementary to the academic character and values of tertiary education institutions.
  • USSA’s programmes are structured in such a way to facilitate and improve opportunities for all students to acquire the necessary sporting skills to compete at all levels.
  • USSA's membership is open to all SAQA (South African Qualifications Authority) accredited institutions of higher education (universities and colleges).



USSA National Institutional Golf Championships
Dates: 29 June to 03 July 2015
Venue: Port Shepstone, KwaZulu Natal 
Host: USSA Golf  


2015 - Port Shepstone & Margate (USSA Golf)
2014 - Koro Creek, Modimolle - CA
2013 - Koro Creek, Modimolle - CA
2012 - North West University, PUK
2011 - University Stellenbosch
2010 - Port Shepstone & Margate (USSA Golf)
2009 - University Pretoria
2008 - Rhodes University
2007 - University Johannesburg
2006 - University KwaZulu Natal

Update: 22 January 2015

  1. Cape Peninsula University of Technology

  2. Central University of Technology, Free State

  3. Centurion Academy

  4. Independent Institute of Education

  5. Nelson Mandela University

  6. North West University, Potchefstroom

  7. North West University, Vaal

  8. Rhodes University

  9. Tshwane University of Technology

  10. University Cape Town

  11. University Free State

  12. University Johannesburg

  13. University Pretoria

  14. University Stellenbosch

  15. University Western Cape

  16. University Zululand

  17. Walter Sisulu University, Buffalo City

  18. Walter Sisulu University, Ibika Campus